Why I Try

Many people have asked about my motivation for doing this triathlon. Initially, I considered the idea as a way to meet new people. Selfish? Maybe. Then, I quickly realized I needed more motivation than that to get me through the rigorous training schedule.

I began to share the idea with a few friends and family, mostly to get their reaction. I knew my true friends would be honest and tell me if they thought I could not do it. No one has ever said that to me.

In fact, I have received incredible support from many. My friend, Jim Acton, has been one of my biggest cheerleaders. He encourages me, lets me vent, and always knows how to boost my spirits.

Jim and his wife Kristen

I met Jim and his wife, Kristen, several years ago at the Church at Brook Hills in Birmingham. They are a beautiful couple with two great kids.

Jim, 44, is full of wit and kindness. He provides daily entertainment to my Facebook news feed.  Truth be known, he is one of my favorite people!

Nearly five years ago, at the age of 39, Jim was diagnosed with Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease. ALS is a disease of the nerve cells in the brain and spinal cord that control voluntary muscle movement.

For years, Jim has undergone testing and received treatment for both ALS and Lyme disease. As you can imagine, the diseases have taken a toll on his body. He can walk a few steps with a walker, but uses a wheelchair almost exclusively, and his speech has been profoundly affected.

In August, Jim underwent a stem cell transplant and is awaiting results. This procedure offers hope of slowing the progression of ALS.

Jim cruising on the beach.

Although life has changed drastically for Jim and his family, he doesn’t let it get him down. He still enjoys family vacations to the beach, catching up with friends, political banter, and so much more. He graciously lives life one day at a time.

Jim credits his source of strength to Kristen, his wife of 19 years. He says, “I truly think I would be dead now if I hadn’t had her with me through this.”

When I think about my motivation for doing the triathlon, without hesitation, I think of Jim. I am blessed with an able body. On Sunday, I’ll swim, bike, and run in honor of my dear friend, Jim.

One thought on “Why I Try

Leave a comment